Salsa making has never been so much fun!

Azteca Soup Recipe

Azteca Soup

Aztec Soup

We’re always finding new ways to make cooking fun. I recently found that taking pictures of my cooking creations has added a twist to my ordinary kitchen adventures. Over the weekend, it was raining and grey here in Cozumel (oh boohoo you say…I know – one day of rain versus your 3 months of snow just doesn’t seem fair does it!), so I decided I would make a nice warm soup, typical to this area. The chosen soup was AZTEC SOUP, or AZTECA SOUP, a very common soup served in Mexico. Similar to Tortilla Soup, the Aztec Soup uses the same ingredients, with the difference that tortilla is not blended into the soup, but rather, placed in the middle of the soup just before serving. I found myself this recipe about 4 years ago, when I first moved to Mazaltan, and ever since, have adapted it and made it my own.

You will need :

1 White Onion, chopped

3 cloves of garlic, minced

2 Poblano Chiles, chopped

1 Avocado

5 cups of stock (I used Veggie coz hubby is Vegetarian, but you can use Chicken Stock to get a rich full flavoured soup!)

2 tbsp of sour cream

Handful of Cilantro, chopped

2 Flour Tortillas

1 Can of Diced Tomatoes, opened

2 Roma Tomatoes, diced

1 tbsp sugar (to balance out the acidity from the tomatoes)

Salt and Pepper to taste

Oil for frying Tortillas (Vegetable oil is good)

1 tbsp of Olive Oil for frying vegetables

A Large Soup Pot Cutting Board, Sharp Knife, Spoon, Laddle, Tongs.

Instructions :

1.Chop all your ingredients that need chopping and put them in seperate bowls.

2.Heat Olive Oil in the Soup Pot and add onion and garlic. Allow to brown (10 minutes)

3.Add Poblano Chiles. Stir till they softenen

4.Add the diced fresh tomatoes, stir and allow to simmer for 3 minutes.

Then add the canned tomatoes. Add Salt and Pepper to taste. (commonly 1 tsp of each)

5.Fry well and add the stock. Bring to boil and then bring it to a minimum and simmer for 15-20 minutes, stirring occassionally.

 

6.Allow soup to sit for 10 minutes.

7.In a frying pan, heat frying oil.

8.Cut your tortilla into strips, a finger in width. Add them to oil and take out with tongs once golden brown. Place fried tortilla strips on a paper napkin to absorb the oil.

9.Open up the avocado, de-seed, and cut into cubes.

10.Laddle the soup into a large bowl, add a dolop of soup cream, pile on the tortilla strips in the centre of the bowl, add the avocado and sprinkle some cilantro on top. Serve hot.

This is truly one of my favourite soups and I hope you guys enjoy it as much as I do…especially in these cold snowy days you have ahead! OLE! Remember to put on some music, something that relaxes you, so that when you are cooking, you are relaxed, smiling and humming away (I cooked this soup with Bach and Beethoven! Made me feel like I was creating a masterpiece!)

Happy Cooking,  Pamela

One response

  1. I have read so many content concerning the blogger lovers
    but this piece of writing is genuinely a fastidious piece of writing, keep it up.

    May 6, 2013 at 1:49 am

Leave a Reply

